Small Press Distribution’s list of writers’ writers

Nicolle Elizabeth on A Lesser Day, 2010, Spuyten Duyvil Press, Brooklyn, New York:

“My choice, my favorite choice, among the many I love and respect so dearly.”

http://www.spdbooks.org/pages/events/mixtape_sale.aspx#nicolle

A Lesser Day front cover

Nicolle was one of the first to review A Lesser Day, calling the book “delicate, yet naked and unapologetic (…) a narrative kept closer than a secret, oozing in slow, soft, whispers … “

http://www.brooklynrail.org/2010/04/books/small-wonder

back cover

… A handbag with a sandwich wrapped in aluminum foil and the instamatic camera I carried around with me like a precious secret, anticipating the moment when I would find what I was waiting for and press the little red button, once each day, one photograph each day. Rust stains spreading out from a spigot and patterns of erosion on a building’s façade, and sometimes just garbage on the street or a swirl of oil in a dirty puddle. On some days I found nothing at all, having waited too long and the light having grown too dim, but I always took the picture anyway, even though the film couldn’t record much more than a murky blur; a lesser day. And how difficult it was to get those blank days developed; how the laboratories automatically skipped over them, and I had to make a special request each time, had to explain that I wanted these worthless pictures developed too, and in the end I had to pay for a hand development because the machines couldn’t be made to print the underexposed negatives, but that came later. 

from  A Lesser Day, Andrea Scrima

Leave a Reply

